Gainingorlosing's Blog


Red Curry Shrimp
July 6, 2013, 4:14 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , ,

This was my very first attempt at red curry, and I have I say it was pretty good. There are some changes that I would make for next time, but overall I’m very happy with the finished product.

Here is what was in the mix:

454 g of jumbo shrimp
1/2 yellow pepper
1/2 red pepper
1 onion
1 tsp of minced garlic
1 tsp of minced ginger
1/4 tsp of cumin
1/2 tsp of chilli powder
2 Tbsp of red curry paste
1 400ml can of light coconut milk
2 Tbsp of coconut oil (can reduce the amount)

1. Mince ginger and garlic. Chop onion and peppers.
2. Bring pan to medium heat, add coconut oil ginger, garlic, and onion. Sauté for 5 minutes add peppers. Sauté until onions and peppers are slightly tender.
3. Add coconut milk.
4. Add remaining spices and red curry paste. Sauté over medium heat until sauce boils.
5. Lower heat, and add shrimp.

20130706-002413.jpg

20130706-002430.jpg

20130706-002442.jpg

I served the red curry shrimp over brown rice.

20130706-002554.jpg

Before I got cooking today I walked to and from the grocery store, which is a bit over 6km round trip. The distance doesn’t bother me, but the humidity does. The last time I checked the weather the humidity was 97%. Honestly I know everyone has a hard time when it’s this humid, but for this British Columbian with strong Scottish blood running through my veins, it is almost unbearable. Lucky for me, I’m heading out to BC in about a week and a half, so I know I won’t have to deal with the humidity too much longer.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

