Gainingorlosing's Blog


My job hunt
June 28, 2013, 8:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

So it’s got to that point in the year where I can no longer spend hours searching through jobs sites saying to myself, “well maybe I could move there for a job”. It’s time to take the bull by the horns and actually apply. Don’t get me wrong, I have applied for jobs, but mostly in my area, or dream jobs I’m under-qualified for, and a few random overseas jobs. The only ones I’ve heard back from so far, were the random overseas jobs. I did a couple of Skype interviews, and got a couple of offers, but nothing fantastic enough to pack my suitcase and jump on a plane for.

I’ve also spent countless hours researching what school boards are looking for, I talk to people whenever I get a chance, and I pour over school board websites, and teacher online forums.

I’m at the point where I am seriously considering moving to Nunavut to find a job. So, I acquired a new criminal record check since Nunavut requires a criminal record check with vulnerable sectors screening completed within the last two months. Today I started applying for jobs. I had to work on my cover letter yet again, and create a cover letter that incorporates my philosophy of education. Then I had trouble emailing my pdf files, because the receiver thought it was spam!

So why would I go to Nunavut when I could go teach in Peru or Thailand? Well honestly I want to pay off my student loan, and I think the experience I would get in Nunavut will help me as I further my career.

Wish me luck, the hunt is seriously on!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good luck on your job hunt, there is nothing quite as scary as putting yourself out their and applying for a job that you truly want. I hope you get the job in Nunavut.

Comment by wizardofresumes




Leave a Reply

