Gainingorlosing's Blog


Sugar Addict
June 24, 2013, 11:19 pm
Filed under: Health, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Hello Friends,

Yesterday I wrote about some of the negative health effects I experienced prior to turning 30 due to my poor diet. So I know what I have done wrong, and I am taking steps to change it, but something stands in my way. That something is my addiction to sugar. I love the sweet stuff, cakes, chocolate, ice cream, if it has sugar in it odds are I want to eat it. So what do I plan on doing to combat my sugar demons?

1. Start the day with a filling high protein breakfast.
By starting my day with a filling high protein breakfast, I am more likely to stay satisfied throughout the morning, and able to stay away from the treat stash in the staff room during first break.

2. Make natural sugars accessible.
My body is better equiped to digest the natural sugars found in whole fruits versus the sugars found in an Oh Henry bar. By rinsing my fruit when I first come home from the grocery store, it makes it easier to grab a handful of grapes or some raspberries when I want a sugar fix. Also I have recently started to put a hard boiled egg, and a piece of fruit in my purse. every time I leave the house. It makes life a little easier to have some prepared snacks on the go.

3. Plan indulgences.
Am I never going to have that Oh Henry bar ever again? It’s pretty doubtful, but by planning small sugar indulgences into my life it will make me less likely to binge on an entire tub. I plan on making my indulgences high quality ones instead of chocolate bars from the dollar store. For example last night I had a cup of strawberries and two squares of 90% cocoa, dark chocolate. It certainly hit the spot even though it wasn’t my normal sticky sweet carmel chocolate bar. I also need to be more aware of my portions when I have something sweet, a little treat is fine, a meal sized slice of cake is not.

4. If I mess up, I can start over immediately
If I cave in and eat a meal sized slab of chocolate cake one lonely afternoon, it doesn’t mean I can continue with poor eating habits for the rest of the day. I need to brush myself off, and get on with healthy eating.

5. Think of the benefits of a lower sugar diet
I am aware that my mood is often effected by my sugar intake as is my skin. Of course my waistline is negatively impacted by eating mounds of high sugar high fat creations. I plan on focusing on my goals and reminding myself why I feel better emotionally and physically without refined sugar.

20130625-152021.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

