Gainingorlosing's Blog


My Skin
June 21, 2013, 1:32 pm
Filed under: Health | Tags: , , , , ,

Recently I looked at an old picture of myself that was taken about eight years ago. What I noticed right away wasn’t just how much thinner I was, but how amazing my skin looked. I don’t want to live a life where so much pleasure and pain is centred around food. I want to live a life where I have energy, and vitality and food is there to provide nourishment and help me to achieve my fitness goals.
Many people do not believe in cutting out foods groups, while others believe for there own bodies some foods are just not compatible.
About four years ago I went to a naturopath for the first time, and was placed on a severely limiting diet after completing a vega allergy test. At the time I was experiencing a lot of digestive problems, and major PMS symptoms. Food can heal us or make us sick. A little over a year ago I went back to the naturopath, because honestly I never stuck to her instructions for more than a couple of months. My major concern when I went to see the naturopath was my skin. I had developed a rash on my left check that wouldn’t go away. I tried over the counter creams, prescription medication and creams, change my soap, laundry detergent and any other possible offender with no luck. I knew there was a food connection, because when I cut dairy out of my diet my rash would improve, but wouldn’t completely go away.

Back to my visit with the naturopath.
Amazingly my food sensitivities had improved, but I still had some major ones. I have food sensitivities which include: sugar, sulphites, and cow dairy. Under the direction of a naturopath I have been instructed to not eat these foods, and to limit wheat (previous sensitivity to wheat and gluten). Sugar in whole fruits has be okayed, and Stevia a natural sweetener, but that’s it. No honey, no Splenda, aspartame, maple syrup, etc. Sulphites have over fifty chemical names which are listed on the nutrition label of most packaged foods. Sulphites are also found in wine, unfortunately.
So other than being tired, sad, having an upset stomach, and experiencing extreme PMS, why would I ever want to give up sugar? The answer is my skin! I want to have clear, radiate, youthful looking skin. I know that my skin the largest organ of my body is a reflection of how I treat my body. The sun I expose it to, the fluids I give it, and the food I digest.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“I don’t want to live a life where so much pleasure and pain is centered around food”

Amen to that! I have all of the same sensitivities as you.. in fact, I was misdiagnosed with Chronic Fatigue and Fibromyalgia when it was in fact Gluten Allergies!

Also, I’ve noticed that any time I have consumed even SMALL amounts of sugar.. I break out on my chin like it’s NO BODY’S BUSINESS! Sugar really screws with our internal hormone regulating systems… it’s really NOT worth the taste.

Have fun with your new found knowledge. Don’t think of yourself as being deprived.. but rather… think of all of the new foods you can introduce into your diet! 😀 (and the beautiful skin that will come with it)

Comment by CasandraWillis

Thanks, I still find it a daily challenge to focus on nourishing my body with quality fuel, but I know it is something that I need to do for my overall health and well being.

Comment by gainingorlosing

I agree, nothing worth doing is ever easy.. but it’s worth it!

Comment by CasandraWillis




Leave a Reply

